The Comoros, officially known as the Union of the Comoros, is an island nation found off the eastern coast of Africa. The Comoros archipelago is located in the Indian Ocean, and is situated next to Madagascar and Mozambique. The Comoros is a relatively small nation in terms of both physical area and population, although it is also one of the mostly densely populated countries in continent. The Comoros have a total population of less than eight hundred thousand residents, and covers a total surface area of slightly more than seven hundred square miles. The Comoros take their name from the Arabic term for moon, and is actually a member of the Arab League as well as the African Union, and has been an independent nation since 1975. The four largest islands in the Comoros archipelago are the Grande Comore, Anjouan, Mayotte, and Moheli, as well as a number of smaller islands.

The Comoros have been populated for about one thousand five hundred years, and has had a diverse variety of different immigrant groups since then. The Comoros economy remains an issue of concern for the government and the international community, and relies mainly on agricultural sectors such as fishing and hunting. The earlier economy of Comoros was considerably more exciting than in the modern day, as the archipelago was an impressive trading hub and regularly saw visits from pirates such as Captain Kidd. Comoros has impressive biodiversity, boasting a number of insect, bird, and mammal species that are found only in the Comoros archipelago. Comoros has a low GDP and a slowly growing economy, although there have been recent efforts to boost economic growth in various sectors.